Code of the District of Columbia

§ 2–1404.03. Composition and appointment.

(a) The Commission shall consist of 15 members, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Council, in accordance with § 1-523.01.

(b) The Commission members shall be residents of the District of Columbia who have a demonstrated background or interest in human rights.

(c) The Commission members shall serve 3-year terms. The terms shall be staggered so that 5 positions expire on December 31 of each year.

(d) The Mayor shall designate one member to serve, at the Mayor’s pleasure, as Chairperson of the Commission.

(e) Any person appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of the term for which his or her predecessor was appointed shall be appointed only for the remainder of the term.

(f) Commission members who began their service before December 7, 2004, shall serve the remainder of their terms.

(g) Commission members shall serve without compensation, but shall be eligible for reimbursement of expenses as provided in § 1-611.08(d).